New Embedded Systems Design Group Hosts Inaugural Colloquium

BLACKSBURG, Va., Oct. 21, 2003 – The formation of an Embedded Systems Design Group at Virginia Tech will be inaugurated at a one-day colloquium featuring expert guest speakers on embedded systems from around the world. The colloquium will be held at Donaldson Brown Conference Center on Oct. 29 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. To register and for more information about the colloquium schedule, go to:

The Virginia Tech Embedded Systems Group is being formed to foster collaboration between five different labs within the electrical and computer engineering department. The purpose of the group is to enhance the productivity of designers of embedded systems.

Five distinguished experts in embedded systems will speak at the colloquium. The speakers are as follows: Rajesh Gupta, Qualcomm Chair Professor from the University of California at San Diego who will speak on "Architecturing Embedded Microsystems"; Jean-Pierre Talpin, Director of the Expresso Project, IRISA/INRIA, France who will speak on "Formal Refinement Checking in the Embedded Systems Design Methodology"; Krishnendu Chakrabarty, associate professor from Duke University who will speak on "Dynamic Adaptation for Fault Tolerance and Power Management in Real-Time Embedded Systems"; James Aylor, Professor from the University of Virginia and Gregory Peterson, Professor from the University of Knoxville will also be presenting.

The main areas of research within the embedded systems group are VLSI Design, Network Embedded Systems, Real-Time Systems and Fault-tolerant architectures for future nanotechnology based hardware design. The faculty from Virginia Tech involved with the new group include: Dong Ha, Michael Hsiao, Sandeep Shukla, Binoy Ravindran and Amitabh Mishra. Additional information about embedded systems research at Virginia Tech can be found at: