University staff appointed to New River Community College Board, UCEA Task Force

BLACKSBURG, Va., Sept. 2, 2004 – Roy S. Jones, of Blacksburg, interim director of Virginia Tech’s Southwest Virginia Center in Abingdon and associate director of the university’s Center for Organizational and Technological Advancement (COTA), has been appointed to represent Montgomery County on the New River Community College Board for a four-year term that will expire in 2008. The appointment was made by the Montgomery County Board of Supervisors.

Jones also has been asked by the University Continuing Education Association’s president to serve as a member of the organization’s Task Force on the Humanities in Continuing Education for a one-year term.

Jones has been with Virginia Tech's Outreach and International Affairs office for 16 years, first with Program Development, then with Outreach Program Development and COTA. As associate director of COTA, he works with faculty to develop conferences, workshops, and short courses at The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center.

Jones received his bachelor's and master's degrees from Appalachian State University and his Ed.D. from East Tennessee State University. Before coming to Virginia Tech, he was employed for 15 years with Appalachian State University.

Founded in 1872 as a land-grant college, Virginia Tech has grown to become among the largest universities in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Today, Virginia Tech’s eight colleges are dedicated to putting knowledge to work through teaching, research, and outreach activities and to fulfilling its vision to be among the top research universities in the nation. At its 2,600-acre main campus located in Blacksburg and other campus centers in Northern Virginia, Southwest Virginia, Hampton Roads, Richmond, and Roanoke, Virginia Tech enrolls more than 28,000 full- and part-time undergraduate and graduate students from all 50 states and more than 100 countries in 180 academic degree programs.