Ten graduate students named 2008 ICTAS Doctoral Scholars

BLACKSBURG, Va., May 22, 2008 – Ten exceptional Ph.D. candidates, representing five colleges and nine departments, are selected as the Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science(ICTAS) Doctoral Scholars for fall 2008. This class of ten scholars brings the total of participants currently in the doctoral scholar program to 21, representing 15 departments.

The 2008 ICTAS Doctoral Scholars are:

The ICTAS Doctoral Scholars Program was established in 2007 and 11 scholars were named in the inaugural year. The program honors exceptional Ph.D. applicants through award of full financial support for the Ph.D. qualifying period. This program is a cooperative effort supported and coordinated primarily by the Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science, with significant contributions from participating departments, colleges, and the Graduate School. Successful candidates of the highest caliber are selected for this honor.

“This award is an investment in the university’s intellectual talent, creativity, and potential in a way that is complementary to Virginia Tech’s mission and strategic plan,” said Roop Mahajan, director of the Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science. “The initial goal for the program is to establish a steady state of 40 ICTAS fellows by 2011 and we are well on our way,” he said.

The ICTAS Doctoral Scholars Program award provides full graduate tuition support plus a graduate student stipend award and associated benefits for the entire period of Ph.D. pursuit to a maximum of four years for each selected honoree. The annual graduate student stipend is $25,000. Additionally, ICTAS supports pre-approved travel for professional development and external presentations resulting from ICTAS-related research.

The Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science at Virginia Tech supports and promotes cutting-edge research at the intersection of engineering, science, and medicine.