Virginia Tech Alumni Association, Office of the President to host 11th Annual Student Recognition Banquet

BLACKSBURG, Va., April 6, 2010 – The Virginia Tech Alumni Association and The Office of the President will sponsor the 11th Annual Student Recognition Banquet on April 10.

The Student Recognition Banquet is a distinguished occasion to honor students that have demonstrated astounding achievement through their academic, leadership, and extracurricular activities at Virginia Tech. Awards are given within four award categories:

The men and women selected to represent Virginia Tech nationally in “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges” undergo an intensive application process and are selected on the basis of scholarship ability, participation, and leadership within academic and extracurricular activities, citizenship and service, and the potential for future achievements. These men and women will represent the university on a national level making it a pinnacle of scholastic achievement.

The Outstanding Senior Awards are sponsored annually by the Virginia Tech Alumni Association and the senior class. Fellow students and faculty within each of the eight colleges of the university recognize one graduating senior that exhibits extraordinary performance in their representative college.

The most prestigious awards of the evening recognize the achievements of one graduate man and woman and one undergraduate man and woman among the entire Virginia Tech Community for 2010. The men and women selected have bestowed upon themselves the true meaning of our motto Ut Prosim (That I May Serve) through their academic achievements and commitment to philanthropic service.

All award recipients will be recognized through the Virginia Tech News website and daily e-mail and through the university's Honors and Awards website during the month of April.

The banquet’s reception will start at 6 p.m. in the Latham Ballroom at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center. Thomas C. Tillar Jr., vice president for alumni relations will preside over the event and President Charles W. Steger will give special remarks and introduce honorary guest speaker Daniel A. Wubah, vice president and dean for undergraduate education.

Other speakers include:

Musical entertainment will be provided by Stevan Jackson and Virginia Tech’s all male a cappella group, Naturally Sharp.

Free parking is available at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center. Find more parking information online or call (540) 231-3200

Written by Morgan Haugh. Haugh, of New Church, Va., is a senior majoring in Political Science in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences.